Question about Recs for a PhD Economics Program

First, I know this post should be in r/GradAdmissions, but as a new user, for some reason if you don't have enough karma you post won't show up, so I posted on here, and any help would be appreciated!

I am in a bit of a unique situation. I graduated from undergrad about 5 years ago, and I have been working in industry in that time. However, now, I want to go back to get a PhD in Economics. My question is how do the recommendations work? My main concern is my undergrad was a double major in Math/Econ, and I didn't work exlusively with 3 different economic professors. I did do research for a Math/CS professor and for an Econ professor. In addition, since I worked in industry for 5 years, I was planning on getting a recommendation from someone I worked with who isn't a PhD. My goal in undergrad was never to get into a PhD Economics program, so I didn't do what most people would have done in undergrad.

Thus, although I am applying for a PhD Economics program, I plan on getting a recommendation from 1 Econ PhD, 1 Math/CS PhD, and 1 person from my industry who has a Masters. Is that acceptable for an Econ PhD applicant or am I completely screwed here? There's no way I can find 3 PhD Economics recommendations at this point (no one I worked with in my job has a PhD in Economics). Do I just have to reach out to professors to do work on the side, or is it possible to apply with this type of background?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks

Btw, if there are any PhD Econ Profs on here, I would totally be willing to do some free research right now.

Original post here -+- Economics For Your Momconomics on eBay!!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started